Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
You are allowed one continuance, which is granted by the Clerk. Your case will be continued to the officers next available court date. The presiding Judge grants any further continuances.
Please visit the Virginia Judicial System website at and click on General District Court Case Information. Court starts promptly at the scheduled time, please be on time to avoid further fines.
The General District Court Clerk’s Office is located in the new Courts and Public Safety Building at 351 Courthouse Lane.
The clerks office is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm, except on legal holidays.
All prepayments must be received in this office at least one day prior to your court date. No payments will be accepted on court day before court.
Yes, prepayments can be paid online with Visa or MasterCard. Click on “Pay Traffic Tickets” and follow the instructions to prepay. There is a 4% convenience fee for this service.
Yes, if you fail to appear, you will be tried in your absence and billed for the fine and costs at the address listed on the summons issued to you by the officer.
You have 30 calendar days from the date of conviction to pay the amount due before the suspension date.
Yes, You have 10 days from the conviction date to appear in the Clerks office to note your appeal.
All payments are payable to the General District Court.
All speeding violations can be prepaid. The fine is computed at $6 per mile over the posted speed limit, except speeding in a school zone or speeding in a highway work zone which are computed at $7 per mile over the posted speed limit. Add the court-processing fee of $61. If you received more than one summons at the same time add the $61 processing fee to the first summons and $10 for each additional summons with the exception of a seat belt violation.
A seat belt violation for a driver or a passenger over the age of 18 years old is a $25 civil penalty with no additional cost or processing fee.
The General District Court mailing address is:King William General District Court351 Courthouse LaneSuite 201King William, VA 23086
You may pay by personal check, money order, cashiers check, VISA or MasterCard. To pay by Visa or MasterCard, fill in the credit card authorization information on the reverse side of the prepayable information sheet given to you by the officer. Mail your payment payable to the General District Court or your credit card authorization information to the court at:351 Courthouse Lane, Suite 201King William, VA 23086
There is a 4% convenience fee for this service.
You may pay by credit card by fax. You will need to fax us an authorization letter with the credit card information, expiration date, and total of the ticket(s) along with the cardholders signature. If you are paying for another person please note their name and include a phone number where you can be reached in case there is a problem. The fax number is 804-769-4971. There is a 4% convenience fee for this service.
You may not prepay a reckless driving charge.
Reassessment is the process of re-determining the value of property or land for tax purposes.
Periodic reassessments are required by law. The Constitution of Virginia, Article X, Section 2 states, "All assessments of real estate and tangible personal property shall be at their fair market value, to be ascertained as prescribed by law." King William County is required to reassess all real property at least every 4 years per Section 70-45 of the King William County Code (Ordinance 02-21 adopted March 8, 2021).
The purpose of property tax reassessment is to insure every property is valued fairly and to realign those values with values of other kinds of property which are assessed annually, such as personal property, utilities, and mobile homes. The Code of Virginia requires that all property be assessed at market value. Because market value changes over time, periodic reassessment is required.
For detailed information, see the Code of Virginia, Chapter 32 - Real Property Tax, specifically Articles 5-7.
A reassessment will result in a new value being established for your property. This new value will replace the current value on your property and will be the basis used for determining the amount of Real Estate Tax owed. Please remember that an increase/decrease in property value does not automatically mean an increase/decrease in the amount of tax owed.
The last reassessment took place in 2020 and was invalidated by the Board of Supervisors in early 2021 due to numerous discrepancies. The last valid reassessment took place between 2014 and 2015. Those results went into effect on January 1, 2015. The 2015 reassessment encompassed over 11,000 parcels with a total value of more than $1.5 billion.
The professional appraisal firm, Pearson's Appraisal Services, Inc., has been contracted by King William County to perform real estate value assessments of every property in the County.
Project Manager - Fred Pearson, Certified General Real Estate Appraiser, Certified Professional Assessor
Project Supervisor - Randy Willis, Professional Assessor
Field Appraisers - David Baldwin, Michael Casey, and Joseph Harper
Clerical & Data Entry - Miranda Berry
Anyone may report suspected child abuse or neglect. Between 8:30 am and 4:30 pm, call our office at 804-769-4905 and ask for a child protective services worker. At all other times, call the Child Protective Services Hotline at 800-552-7096. If your call is an emergency, a local worker will be dispatched. Your name, if you choose to give it, will only be released if ordered by a Judge.
Valid reports will be investigated or a family assessment will be completed to determine if services are needed for the family.
The Department of Social Services does not administer Social Security Programs. You can get information about those programs from the Social Security Administration website.
You can visit the Child Care VA website for more information.